2019 – 2020 ATRI Research Advisory Committee


The Research Advisory Committee (RAC) is comprised of government officials, independent scientists, labor union officials, academics and trucking company executives and suppliers from a diverse cross-section of the industry, all who understand the importance of sound science to an industry as complex as the trucking industry. The RAC is charged with annually recommending a research agenda for the Institute.

Ms. Karen Rasmussen, RAC Chairman
Senior Executive Advisor
Prepass Safety Alliance
Phoenix, AZ




Mr. Michael Ahart
VP Regulatory Affairs

Mr. Thomas A. Balzer, CAE
President and CEO
Ohio Trucking Association
Columbus, OH

Mr. Shawn R. Brown, CDS
Vice President of Safety
Cargo Transporters
Claremont, NC

Mr. Kenneth Calhoun
Fleet Optimization Manager
Altec Service Group
Carlisle, AR

Dr. Alison Conway, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
The City College of New York
New York, NY

Mr. Robert P. Costello
Chief Economist and Senior Vice President,
International Trade Policy and Cross-Border Operations
American Trucking Associations
Arlington, VA

Mr. Dan Drella
Director, Safety and Training
Schneider National, Inc.
Green Bay, WI

Mr. James P. Fields
Chief Operating Officer
Pitt-Ohio, LLC
Pittsburgh, PA

Ms. Victoria King
VP, Public Affairs
Atlanta, GA

Mr. James Langley
Trimble Transportation
Eagan, MN

Mr. Stephen Laskowski
Canadian Trucking Alliance
Toronto, Ontario

Mr. Don Lefeve
President and CEO
Commercial Vehicle Training Association
Alexandria, VA

Mr. Kevin Lhotak
Reliable Transportation Specialists, Inc.
Chesterton, IN

Mr. Mike Ludwick
Bison Transport
Chief Administrative Officer
Winnipeg, Manitoba

Mr. Douglas B. Marcello, Esq
Transportation Attorney
Marcello & Kivisto, LLC
Carlisle, PA

Ms. Jaime Maus
Vice President of Safety and Compliance
Werner Enterprises, Inc.
Omaha, NE

Ms. Caroline Mays
Director, Freight and International Trade Section
Texas DOT
Austin, TX

Ms. Shannon Newton
Arkansas Trucking Association
Little Rock, AR

Mr. Steve Olson
President and Chief Underwriting Officer
Great West Casualty Company
South Sioux City, NE

Ms. Holly Pixler
Senior Director Transportation, Warehousing and International
Golden, CO

Mr. John Prewitt
Tideport Distributing, Inc.
The Woodlands, TX

Mr. Steven Raetz
Dir. Research & Market Intelligence
C.H. Robinson Worldwide, Inc.
Eden Prairie, MN

Mr. Jeremy Reymer
Founder and CEO
Indianapolis, IN

Mr. Lee Sarratt
Director of Safety
J.B. Hunt
Lowell, AR

Deputy Chief Mark Savage
Colorado State Patrol
Lakewood, CO

Ms. Kary Schaefer
General Manager of Marketing and Strategy for Freightliner and Detroit Brands
Daimler Trucks North America, LLC
Portland, OR

Mr. Russ Simpson
America’s Road Team Captain
South Vienna, OH

Mr. Mike Stephens
Vice President of Finance
USA Truck, Inc.
Van Buren, AR

Mr. Collin Stewart
President and CEO
Stewart Transport, Inc.
Phoenix, AZ

Ms. Sara Walfoort
Manager, Freight Planning
Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission
Pittsburgh, PA

Mr. Tom Weakley
Director of Operations
Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Foundation
Grain Valley, MO

Mr. Shawn Yadon
Chief Executive Officer
California Trucking Association
Sacramento, CA