ATRI Announces 2021-2022 Research Advisory Committee Members

Contact: Carla Rose
(770) 432-0628
December 7, 2020

ARLINGTON, VA – The American Transportation Research Institute today released the names of those individuals appointed by the ATRI Board of Directors to serve on the 2021-2022 Research Advisory Committee (RAC). Among other activities, ATRI’s RAC is responsible for annually identifying the top research priorities for the trucking industry. RAC members represent a diverse cross-section of trucking industry stakeholders including motor carriers, industry suppliers, commercial drivers, shippers, law enforcement, academia and government.  

Mr. Shawn Brown, Vice President of Safety for Cargo Transporters, Inc. was appointed to serve as Chair of the RAC. The 2021-2022 ATRI Research Advisory Committee members are:

Michael Ahart
Vice President of Regulatory Affairs

Ben Banks
Vice President, Operations
TCW, Inc.

Hayden Cardiff
CEO and Founder

Joe Darby
Director, Safety & Risk Control –
Transportation & Logistics Practice

Bob Elkins
Senior Vice President, Industry Vertical Operations
Ruan Transportation Management Systems

Gary Falldin
Vice President of Safety, Security and Driver Onboarding
Dart Transit

Melanie Feeley
Vice President, General Business Manager
K-Limited Carrier, Ltd.

Jim Fields
Chief Operating Officer

Rickey Fitzgerald
Manager, Freight and Multimodal Operations
Florida Department of Transportation

Steven Garrish
Vice President of Safety
CRST, Inc.

Rob Haddock
Group Director, Planning and Logistics
Coca-Cola North America

Kevin Lhotak
Reliable Transportation Specialists

Mike Ludwick
Chief Administrative Officer
Bison Transport

Steve Olson
President and Chief Underwriting Officer
Great West Casualty Company

Clay Porter
Porter, Rennie, Woodard, Kendall, LLP

Abigail Potter
Manager, Safety and Occupational Health Policy
American Trucking Associations

Jeremy Reymer
Founder and CEO

Rob Rhea
Senior Vice President and General Counsel
FedEx Freight

Marc Rogers
President and CEO

Amanda Schuier
Senior Vice President
Quality Transport

Joe Sculley
Motor Transport Association of Connecticut

Shelly Seaton
Vice President of Loss Prevention

Charles Simpson
Vice President, Strategic Intelligence

Russ Simpson
America’s Road Team Captain

Monique Stinson
Computational Transportation Scientist
Argonne National Laboratory

Daniel Studdard
Principal Planner, Transportation Access and Mobility Division
Atlanta Regional Commission

Chief Jay Thompson
Arkansas Highway Police

Randy Vernon
Chief Executive Officer
Big G Express

Doug Voss
Arkansas Highway Commission Endowed Chair
University of Central Arkansas

Tom Weakley
Director of Operations
Owner-Operator Independent Drivers Association Foundation

John Whittington
Vice President, Legislative Affairs
Grammer Logistics

Shawn Yadon
Chief Executive Officer
California Trucking Association

“ATRI’s RAC members serve a critical role in identifying and prioritizing the trucking industry’s top research needs. We congratulate all those appointed by the ATRI Board to serve in this important role and look forward to working with them,” said Rebecca Brewster, ATRI President and COO.

ATRI is the trucking industry’s 501(c)(3) not-for-profit research organization. It is engaged in critical research relating to freight transportation’s essential role in maintaining a safe, secure and efficient transportation system.

# # #